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538-X-8-.01 Scope.

Dispensaries authorized pursuant to §20-2A-64, Code of Ala. 1975,
(as amended), shall operate in accordance with the provisions of
the Act and this Chapter. Except as specifically provided in this
Chapter, Dispensaries shall be governed by the General Rules for
Licensee Applications (Chapter 3 of these Rules), the General
Rules for Licensee Conduct (Chapter 4 of these Rules).

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.02 Licensing And Regulation Of Medical Cannabis As To
Dispensaries.

(1) Generally. Dispensaries are required to be licensed by the
Commission. Dispensaries shall be licensed in accordance with the
provisions of this Chapter, $20-2A-64, Code of Ala. 1975, (as
amended), and other applicable sections of the Act. Dispensary
Licenses shall be awarded only to qualified applicants.

(2) Limits on Number of Dispensary Licenses. In accordance with
§20-2A-64, the Commission shall grant no more than four dispensary
licenses.

(3) Limits on Dispensing Sites per Licensee. Each dispensary
licensee may operate no more than three dispensing sites, provided
that each dispensing site shall be located in a separate county
from other dispensing sites operated by the same dispensary
licensee. If the criteria for seeking additional dispensing sites
as provided in $20-2A-64(f), Code of Alabama 1975, (as amended),
has been met, a dispensary licensee may petition the Commission to
allow it to provide an additional dispensing site in an unserved
or underserved area of the state based on demand for medical
cannabis as reflected by numbers in the patient pool.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, a dispensary licensee is not
prohibited from dispensing approved medical cannabis products from
a dispensing site within the same county as another dispensing
site operated by a competing dispensary licensee or integrated
facility licensee.
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(4) Authority. A dispensary license authorizes the following:

(a) The purchase and transfer of medical cannabis from a
processor.

(b) If a cultivator contracts with a processor to process its
cannabis into medical cannabis on the cultivator's behalf, the
purchase or transfer of medical cannabis from the cultivator.

(c) The purchase and transfer of medical cannabis from an
integrated facility.

(d) The dispensing and sale of medical cannabis only to a
registered qualified patient or registered caregiver holding a
valid, unexpired, and unrevoked medical cannabis card, and
only within the sales area of the dispensing site.

(e) The transfer of medical cannabis, including between the
dispensary's own dispensing sites, only by means of a secure
transporter.

(5) Restrictions. A dispensary license does not permit a
dispensary, including its subsidiaries, affiliates, parent
entities, board members, officers, managers or employees,
individually or collectively, to engage in any of the following:

(a) Dispense cannabis prior to its processing into medical
cannabis.

(b) Purchase cannabis from a cultivator prior to its
processing by a processor or Integrated Facility.

(c) Dispense medical cannabis to non-residents of Alabama,
including patients or caregivers registered or eligible for
medical cannabis or the equivalent under the laws of another
jurisdiction, or residents of Alabama who are not qualified
registered patients or registered caregivers, including but
not limited to registered certifying physicians.

(d) Cultivate, process or transport cannabis or medical
cannabis, or perform the functions of an Integrated Facility
or State Testing Laboratory.

(e) Deliver medical cannabis to anyone, including a registered
qualified patient or registered caregiver.

(f) Hold a license as or possess stock or ownership interest
in a licensed cultivator, licensed processor, licensed secure
transporter, or licensed integrated facility as those terms
are defined in Chapter 1 of these Rules.

(g) Permit the sale of any products except to qualified
registered patients and qualified registered caregivers, and
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then, only to the extent that such patients and caregivers can
produce a valid medical cannabis card.

(h) Permit sale of any products to any other person, including
but not limited to individuals who are qualified registered
patients or qualified registered caregivers under the laws of
another state.

(1) Except under extraordinary circumstances at the discretion
of the Commission, sell medical cannabis grown or processed by
entities other than the dispensary's contracting processor,
cultivator, or integrated facility (See §20-2A-64(a) (1), Code
of Ala. 1975, (as amended)).

(7) Offer for sale items other than medical cannabis obtained
through contract with a licensed processor, cultivator or
integrated facility, or approved medical-cannabis related
equipment and supplies (see AMCC website for approved list).

(k) Licensed Dispensaries may not perform dispensing
operations at any site or facility other than those
specifically approved by the Commission.

(6) Duties and Requirements. A licensed dispensary must comply
with the following:

(a) Sell or dispense only tested medical cannabis, properly
packaged, bearing the universal State symbol, and properly
labeled for retail sale to a registered qualified patient or
registered caregiver.

(b) Enter all transactions, account for all inventory, monitor
patient usage, and log other relevant information as may be
necessary or appropriate to the dispensary's business, into
the Statewide Seed-to-Sale Tracking System, pursuant to
§20-2A-54, Code of Ala. 1975, (as amended).

(c) Dispense medical cannabis only under the supervision of a
certified dispenser as provided in Rule 583-X-8-.03, below.

(d) Dispense only medical cannabis provided through wvalid
contracts with other (non-dispensary) licensees and related
products associated with medical cannabis, e.g., inhalers or
other administration aids.

(e) Prohibit medical cannabis use on its premises.
(f) Restrict access to the premises of dispensing sites to
registered qualified patients and registered caregivers,

except for other authorized individuals as provided in
paragraph 3.7. of Rule 583-X-8-.04.
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(g) Equip dispensing sites with surveillance cameras or other
recording devices as provided in a cohesive security plan,
maintaining footage captured thereon for a period of no less
than sixty {60) days following the date of recording, in
accordance with 20-2A-64(d) (2), Code of Ala. 1975, (as
amended) and paragraph 3.7. of Rule 583-X-8-.04.

(h) Dispense medical cannabis to patients and caregivers
holding a valid, unexpired and unrevoked medical cannabis
card, only in accordance with product and dosing instructions
provided by the registered certifying physician and the
provisions of 538-X-2-.07 of Chapter 2 of these Rules.
Author: William H. Webster
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.03 Certified Dispensers.

Medical cannabis may only be dispensed under the supervision of a
certified dispenser, in accordance with the following Rules:

(1) Definition. For purposes of this Chapter, a certified
dispenser is a managing employee of a dispensary who has
undergone training and certification as required by the
Commission to oversee the dispensing of medical cannabis to a
registered qualified patient or registered caregiver at a
dispensing site.

(2) A certified dispenser must be on duty at all times while
the dispensing site is open for business; a certified
dispenser must oversee and sign off on all sales of medical
cannabis as the dispensary employee ultimately responsible for
each transaction.

(3) A certified dispenser must have, at a minimum, two years
of education or experience in the fields of biology,
biochemistry, chemistry, physiology, pharmacology, medicine,
medical cannabis, nursing, pharmaceuticals, or a similar
field.

(4) Training and Continuing Education of Certified Dispensers.

(a) Prior to the dispensary's commencing operations or
prior to beginning work, a certified dispenser must take
and pass a medical cannabis foundations training course
as required by the Commission.

(b) Annually, in addition to the Commission's continuing

education requirement for all employees a certified
dispenser must undergo not fewer than ten (10) hours of
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continuing education approved by the Commission, to
address proper dispensing procedures, including the
requirements of the Act and this Chapter, prevention of
abuse and diversion of medical cannabis, and other topics
related to public health, safety and good business
practices relating to cannabis, medical cannabis and the
dispensing thereof.

(5) Prior to dispensing medical cannabis, the dispensary,
acting through a certified dispenser or employee supervised by
a certified dispenser, shall confirm that the patient or
caregiver holds a valid, current, unexpired, and unrevoked
medical cannabis card, and that the dispensing of medical
cannabis conforms to the type and amount recommended in the
physician certification, and that the amount recommended will
not exceed the 60-day daily dosage purchasing limit.

(6) At the time of dispensing medical cannabis, the certified
dispenser, or another dispensary employee under the
supervision of the certified dispenser, shall enter into the
patient registry and the Statewide Seed-to-Sale Tracking
System, and shall attach to the package containing the medical
cannabis the following patient-specific information:

(a) The name and medical cannabis card number of the
patient;

(b) The name and medical cannabis card number of the
caregiver, if applicable;

(c) The name and contact information of the registered
certifying physician;

(d) The amount and type of medical cannabis being
dispensed;

(e) The physician’s dosing comments and maximum daily
dosage recommendation; and

(f) The date and time the medical cannabis was dispensed.

(7) A certified dispenser may, at the request of the patient
or caregiver, provide instructions on the proper
administration of medical cannabis, education regarding
potential side effects, potential drug interactions, or other
aspects of medical cannabis. Notwithstanding the foregoing, a
certified dispenser may not offer advice regarding the safety
or effectiveness of medical cannabis, the recommended daily
dosage, or type of medical cannabis recommended by the
registered certifying physician, except that a certified
dispenser may direct the patient or caregiver back to the
registered certifying physician to address questions or
provide advice that the certified dispenser cannot.
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(8) At the time required by law, the certified dispenser or
another dispensary employee acting under the supervision of
the certified dispenser, must allocate the appropriate sum for
satisfaction of taxes as may be levied against the sale.
Author: William H. Webster
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.04 Requirements And Limitations As To Dispensaries
Sites.

Dispensing sites must comply with the following:

(1) Premises. A "dispensing site" as defined in Chapter 1 of
these Rules may consist of a stand-alone building or occupy
dedicated exclusive space within a multi-use structure, strip
mall or other such retail facility, except that a dispensing
site may not occupy space within the same multi-use structure,
strip mall or other such retail facility as a certifying
physician or another licensee. To the extent that the
dispensing site occupies space within a multi-use structure,
strip mall or other retail facility, the licensee must provide
a verified plan demonstrating that the space is reasonably
secure from outside intrusion and that the safety and privacy
of patients and caregivers is fully supported and monitored at
all times during their visits to the dispensary (including in
the parking area outside the dispensing site, see 538-
X-8-.04-2). Other facilities owned or leased and operated by a
dispensary, such as a business office and a warehouse, shall
not be deemed a dispensing site, provided that no medical
cannabis products are offered for sale at such facilities.

(2) Parking lot. To the extent that a dispensing site is
housed in a stand-alone building, a dispensary must maintain a
parking area adjacent to its structure that shall be for the
exclusive use of patients and caregivers seeking to purchase
medical cannabis and related equipment and supplies; the
parking area must be designed to provide reasonable privacy to
those individuals in their ingress and egress from the
dispensing site. Alternatively, if an exclusive parking area
is not feasible for the stand-alone dispensary site, the
dispensary must maintain for the exclusive use of patients and
caregivers a designated portion of the parking area that is
situated conveniently to the dispensing site, and which may be
monitored and supported for the reasonable safety and security
of customer patients and caregivers. To the extent that a
dispensing site is housed in a multi-use structure, strip mall
or other such retail facility, the dispensary must maintain
for the exclusive use of patients and caregivers a designated
portion of the parking area that is situated conveniently to
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the dispensing site, and which may be monitored and supported
for the reasonable safety and security of customer patients
and caregivers.

(3) Restricted Proximity to School, Daycare or Childcare
Facility.

(a) The location of any dispensing site must be at least
1000 feet from any school, day care, or childcare
facility.

(b) For purposes of paragraph 3.a. of this Rule, the
following terms have the following meanings:

1. "At Least One Thousand Feet" shall mean at least
one thousand feet in a straight line from the
property line of the dispensing site premises to the
property line of the school, daycare or childcare
facility, measured at the nearest possible point
between the two.

2. "School, Daycare or Childcare Facility" shall mean
the real property on which a public or private school
for students in any grade K-12 (not including a
residence in which school- age children are being
home-schooled) has actively operated within the last
six months, or the real property on which a licensed
daycare or childcare facility has actively operated
within the last six months.

3. "Premises" shall mean a stand-alone structure
housing a dispensing site, all portions of the real
property where a dispensing site operates, including
but not limited to the parking lot and any peripheral
space outside the structure housing the dispensing
site.

(4) Dispensing Site Prohibited in the Absence of Authorizing
local Resolution or Ordinance. A dispensing site may not
operate in the unincorporated area of a county or in a
municipality that has not adopted a resolution or ordinance
authorizing the operation of dispensing sites under $§20-2A-51,
Code of Ala. 1975, (as amended).

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.

History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October

15, 2022.

538-X-8-.05 Applications And Licensing Procedures As To
Dispensaries Generally.
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(1) Generally. Applicants for a license to operate as a Dispensary
under the Act and these Rules shall be governed by the Rules for
filing applications and seeking a license contained in Chapters 3
(538-X-3-.01, et seqg.) and 4 (538-X-4-.01, et seqg.) of these
Rules, except as specifically modified below.

(2) Procedure for Filing Application -Contents of Application
Specific to Dispensaries. A Dispensary's application filed with
the Commission shall conform to the following requirements for all
licensees set forth in 538-X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of these Rules,
except as noted below:

(a) Cover Sheet - as provided in 538-X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of
these Rules.

(b) Summary Sheet - as provided in 538-X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of
these Rules.

(c) Application Information - as provided in 538-X-3-.05 of
Chapter 3 of these Rules, except as provided otherwise below:

1. The Dispensary Applicant's verification regarding each
business entity that has any ownership interest in the
applicant shall conform with paragraph 3.a. of Rule 538-
X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of these Rules.

2. The Dispensary Applicant's verification regarding
individuals having any ownership interest in the
applicant, as to the identity, street address and
responsible person of all entities with which the
individual is connected, to the extent the entity is
directly or indirectly involved in the cannabis industry,
shall conform with paragraph 3.b. of Rule 538-X-3-.05 of
Chapter 3 of these Rules.

3. The Dispensary Applicant's verification regarding any
criminal history as to any owner, director, board member,
or individual with a controlling interest in the
applicant shall conform with paragraph 3.c. of Rule 538-
X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of these Rules.

4. The Dispensary Applicant's verified licensing history,
cannabis industry history, and tax history regarding
itself or any affiliate shall conform with paragraphs
3.d., 3.e., and 3.f. of Rule 538-X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of
these Rules.

5. The Dispensary Applicant's verification regarding any
public officials having any interest in the applicant
shall conform with paragraph 3.g. of Rule 538-X-3-.05 of
Chapter 3 of these Rules.
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6. The Dispensary Applicant's statement of the
anticipated or actual number of employees shall conform
with paragraph 3.h. of Rule 538-X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of
these Rules.

7. The Dispensary Applicant's statement of the number of
days, if awarded a license, within which it will commence
operations and reach full capacity shall conform with
paragraph 3.i. of Rule 538-X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of these
Rules.

8. The Dispensary Applicant's consent to the inspections,
examinations, searches and seizures contemplated by
§20-2A-52(a) (3), Code of Ala. 1975, (as amended) shall
conform with paragraph 3.7j. of Rule 538-X-3-.05 of
Chapter 3 of these Rules.

9. The Dispensary Applicant's verification of the
permissibility of its facilities' locations and
compliance with all State and local laws shall conform
with paragraph 3.k. of Rule 538-X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of
these Rules.

10. The Dispensary Applicant's Verification that it and
its leadership have no economic interest in any other
license or Applicant for license under the Act or this
Chapter shall conform with paragraph 3.1. of Rule 538-
X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of these Rules.

11. Self-Reporting. In the Event of an Incident Involving
Injury, Loss, or Material Breach of Policies and
Procedures. As provided in Chapter 3 of these Rules, any
"injury," "loss," or a "material breach" of the
licensee's policies and procedures shall be promptly
reported to the Commission, and, as applicable, law
enforcement, and in no event more than 24 hours after its
occurrence or discovery, to allow for swift investigation
and, as necessary, remediation.

12. Background Checks. As provided in Chapter 3 of these
Rules, all board members, officers, management, staff and
volunteers of prospective dispensaries shall undergo a
pre- engagement background check, to be renewed no less
often than during every third year following the date of
each individual's commencement of service on behalf of
the dispensary.

(3) Procedure for Filing Application - Exhibits to Dispensary's
Application. Exhibits to the Dispensary Applicant's application
information shall include all those as provided in subparagraphs
3.m. (1) through 3.m. (16) of Rule 538-X-3-.05 of Chapter 3 of these
Rules, unless specifically provided otherwise as follows:
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(a) Dispensary applicants must provide a quality control and
quality assurance plan for each of their facilities, including
all dispensing sites, identifying:

1. An overview of the steps to be taken in the dispensing
process to provide high quality products and/or to ensure
the safety, potency, stability, lifespan, and consistency
among batches of the same product, whether as required by
law or otherwise.

2. What tests will be conducted, if any, and at what
point or points during the dispensing process.

3. Whether each test to be conducted will be performed
in-house, through unofficial private testing performed by
a State Testing Laboratory, or through an official test
by a State Testing Laboratory.

4. A plan for return and remediation or destruction of
any failed test samples, including entry of the event on
the Statewide Seed-to-Sale Tracking System.

(b) Dispensary applicants must provide:

1. A curriculum vitae for the business, demonstrating the
education, experience, and other credentials of the
certified dispenser(s), and any other science- or
engineering-based employees or employees with a business
background (i.e., accounting, finance, managing,
marketing, advertising, public relations, etc.) among its
leadership and/or employed at each facility, including
but not limited to all dispensing sites.

2. A detailed explanation of the role each leader,
certified dispenser, scientist, businessperson, or
engineer is to have in the operation of the dispensary at
each facility.

3. A 5-year hiring plan for its employees, identifying
the types, positions, required education, required
experience, and expected roles of such personnel.

(c) Dispensary Applicants must provide a plan for receiving
and coordinating information and certifications from
registered certifying physicians recommending medical cannabis
products for patient and caregiver customers.

(d) Dispensary Applicants must provide a plan for point-of-
sale education, consultation, provision of information,
responses to patient and caregiver questions, and instructions
for use regarding all medical cannabis products, to be
conducted by the certified dispenser.
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(e) Dispensary applicants must create and maintain at all
times a plan pursuant to 538-X-3-.05-3.m. (16) (i) and 538-X-4-.
07-12.0.(9), for maintaining confidential information and
providing cybersecurity for sensitive information with respect
to patients and caregivers, but the dispensary shall include
within that plan a set of protocols for maintaining the
confidentiality of patient information in accordance with
HIPAA arising from or related to the dispensary's access to
the Patient Registry and/or from any other source.

(f) Dispensary applicants must provide a Community Engagement
Plan describing all efforts that have been or will be made to
foster the dispensary's relationship with, involvement in, and
commitment to any community (including municipality or county)
in which the dispensary intends to locate a facility within
the next three years.

(g) Dispensary applicants must provide an Environmental Impact
Statement outlining the anticipated impact of each of the
dispensary's proposed operations, per facility, on the local
environment; the applicant's efforts or plans, if any, to
build a relationship to foster cooperation and compliance with
federal, state and local agencies providing environmental
oversight; and any steps the applicant has taken or will take
to reduce or eliminate its carbon footprint and/or to achieve
and maintain a positive environmental profile in each
community where the applicant intends to locate and operate a
facility within the next three years.

(h) Dispensary applicants must provide a detailed plan for
handling money and allocating and remitting taxes as required
by any local, state or federal agency.
(i) Dispensary applicants must provide copies of all
contracts, contingent contracts, memoranda of understanding
(or, if none of the foregoing are available, exemplars)
between themselves and:

1. Any Cultivator or prospective Cultivator.

2. Any Secure Transporter or prospective Secure
Transporter.

3. Any State Testing Laboratory or prospective State
Testing Laboratory.

4. Any Processor or prospective Processor.

5. Any Integrated Facility or prospective Integrated
Facility.

(7) Dispensary applicants must create a receiving and shipping
plan that, at a minimum, ensures the following, in
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coordination with the contracted Secure Transporter or State
Testing Laboratory, as applicable:

1. Individual batches of medical cannabis being received
for storage and/or dispensing were appropriately
prepared, packaged, and labeled at the time of receipt,
having been QR coded or otherwise digitally coded to
identify, at a minimum, the Processor or Integrated
Facility, the facility of origin, date of processing,
packaging, and labeling, and the date of the Processor's
or Integrated Facility's State Laboratory testing
approval.

2. Incoming medical cannabis is accompanied by the Secure
Transporter's manifest and other appropriate
documentation; the information thereon is accurate, and
the manifest has been duly executed by all appropriate
parties.

3. All information from the QR code relating to the
incoming medical cannabis, as well as the date and time
of arrival, has been logged into the Statewide-Seed-to-
Sale Tracking System.

4. Medical cannabis products being received by the
Dispensary by means of a Secure Transporter must be
appropriately packaged, labeled, and inserted in
containers prior to transport.

5. Batches and containers being shipped by the Dispensary
to or from another licensee's facility or to or from
another of the Dispensary's own facilities must be QR
coded or otherwise digitally coded to identify, at a
minimum, the Cultivator, Processor or Integrated Facility
from which the medical cannabis was sourced, the facility
or facilities of origin, type of product, date of
processing and packaging, expiration date (or, if no
expiration date, a notation that the expiration date does
not apply), the date of the Processor's State Laboratory
testing approval, and the Alabama Poison Control contact
information as provided on the AMCC website.

6. Outgoing medical cannabis being sent for testing is
accompanied by the Secure Transporter's or State Testing
Laboratory's manifest and other appropriate
documentation; the information thereon is accurate and
has been duly executed by all appropriate parties.

7. All information from the QR code relating to the
outgoing medical cannabis, as well as the date and time
of shipment, has been logged into the Statewide-Seed-to-
Sale Tracking System.
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(k) Dispensary applicants must provide a marketing and
advertising plan, if any, including:

1. Any proposed logos, branding, messaging, or other
marketing or advertising communications, either in-house
(e.g., in displays or on video monitors installed in the
dispensing site) or providing exemplars of any specific
advertisements.

2. Any specific media outlets or platforms where the
marketing or advertising campaigns or programs will be
utilized.

3. The identity of any media outlet, social media
platform, or third-party individual or entity which is
projected to play any role in the Dispensary's marketing
or advertising efforts, and copies of all contracts or
contract forms proposed for use, if any, between itself
and such media outlet or third-party individual or
entity.

(1) Dispensary applicants must provide a detailed recall plan
that will be followed in the event one or more of the products
offered for sale at its dispensing sites, including any lots
or batches thereof, is determined to require recall. The plan
must include, but is not limited to, the following:

1. Provisions for notifying the originating Processor or
Integrated Facility and any other licensee in the chain
of custody of an adverse event;

2. Factors about an adverse event that would likely
necessitate a recall, and any potential for retesting or
remediation;

3. Responsible individuals or positions within the
Dispensary's organization who will oversee the recall
process;

4. Notification protocols to other licensees and the
Commission through the Statewide Seed-to-Sale Tracking
System;

5. Processes to ensure that the recalled product is
returned, remediated (and ultimately approved as safe),
or destroyed; processes to report to the Commission and
any other appropriate regulatory body regarding crisis
response and steps taken to mitigate or avoid danger to
the public;

6. Steps to be taken to avoid further contamination, to
preserve and protect uncontaminated cannabis or medical
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cannabis products, and to ensure access to said products
by those who depend on it; and

7. Investigation and analysis of the factors that led to
the unsafe condition requiring the recall, and any
adjustments to internal protocols and processes to avoid
recurrence.

(m) The Dispensary Applicant's Security Plan must include a
plan for security at each facility, including but not limited
to the following:

1. Twenty-four-hour alarm systems must be installed in
all facilities where cannabis or medical cannabis
products are present. Such alarms shall be provided and
installed by experts in industry-standard commercial-
grade alarm systems. Alarm systems must be fully
operational, securing all entry points and perimeter
windows, be equipped with motion detectors and pressure
switches, and must cover all areas where cannabis or
medical cannabis products are delivered, received,
handled, stored, prepared, dispensed or sold.

2. Reception areas and personnel adjacent to ingress and
egress points shall have ready access to duress panic and
hold-up alarms that may be activated in the event of
access by unauthorized personnel or intruders.

3. Broadcast communication devices (cell phones, intercom
equipment or the like) must be:

(i) Carried by each employee or installed in all
areas of each Dispensary's facility designed for
regular access by humans.

(ii) Accessible for communication by all personnel at
all times, and particularly at perimeter ingress/
egress stations, facility reception areas, and the
security office.

(iii) Capable of providing information with
sufficient clarity to be heard and understood by all
personnel and visitors within earshot of the employee
receiving the communication.

4. Dispensary's facilities shall maintain an audio/video
surveillance system that shall be in continuous operation
24 hours per day. Cameras shall be fixed in place
covering both the interior and exterior of the
Dispensary's facility, in such quantity, with such
lighting, and at such resolution as shall allow for the
clear identification of individuals and activities in all
reasonably accessible areas of the premises, including
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but not limited to all entrances, exits, parking lots,
and any area where cannabis or medical cannabis is
delivered, received, handled, stored, prepared,
dispensed, or sold. Audio/Video surveillance recordings
must clearly and accurately display the time and date.
Audio recordings shall clearly and accurately capture
sound within camera range at a level of 20 decibels or
greater.

5. As to any facility owned by a dispensary at which
medical cannabis is maintained, except a dispensary site,
the dispensary must surround the perimeter of such
facility with a sufficient fence or barrier to prevent
access by unauthorized persons and must have sufficient
lighting to allow for the proper functioning of video
surveillance equipment at all times between dusk and dawn
or at any other time when ambient lighting requires
enhancement to permit identification of individuals and
activities upon or immediately adjacent to the premises.
Indoor premises must likewise be sufficiently 1lit to
allow for the identification of individuals and
activities.

6. Exterior doors of each facility operated by a
Dispensary must be designed or reinforced to withstand
unlawful forcible entry; exterior doors shall remain
locked against outside intruders at all times, while
allowing free egress by the facility's occupants in the
event of an emergency; doors must permit ingress to
employees and other appropriate persons (other than
Patients and Caregivers) only by means of a keycard or
other similar electronic access device. Patients and
caregivers may be granted access by Dispensary personnel
only upon showing a valid, unexpired and unrevoked
medical cannabis card.

7. A dispensary site must be housed (A) in a stand-alone
building or (B) within a multi-use structure, strip mall
or other such retail facility; the area occupied by the
dispensary site is not to be accessible to or used by
neighboring businesses, other tenants or others not
employed by the dispensary. To the extent that the
dispensary site is housed within a multi-use structure,
strip mall or other such retail facility, the dispensary
site must be self-contained, or at a minimum, segregated
from other businesses and activities being conducted in
the multi-use structure, strip mall or other such retail
facility by separate points of ingress and egress or, at
a minimum, separately keyed and electronically protected
entryways accessible only to employees of the dispensary;
patients and caregivers; AMCC representatives and their
guests; representatives of other licensees; vendors,
cleaning crew personnel, and repair workers carrying out
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business-related functions on the premises;
representatives of the lessor during routine inspections
or similar circumstances warranting a physical visit to
the premises; or other appropriate individuals.

8. Dispensary Facilities must maintain sufficient
staffing of security guards at each facility where
cannabis and medical cannabis is present to reasonably
ensure the safety of the products stored therein;
however, the dispensary must provide, at a minimum, one
(1) security guard per facility during the facility's
business/operating hours.

9. Strict access controls shall protect areas where
cannabis or medical cannabis and daily monetary receipts
are handled or stored - in a secured, locked room or
vault.

10. Protocols for beginning-of-day and end-of-day
movement of medical cannabis and cash between secure
areas and sales areas, as well as a plan for maintaining
security of daily cash on hand at all times.

11. Members of the public, other than patients and
caregivers holding a valid, unexpired, unrevoked medical
cannabis card, are not allowed inside a dispensing site.
Records, whether electronic or manual, must be kept of
all persons on the premises at a facility at all times,
including employees, vendors, transporters or other
licensees, and all official visitors, recording the
individuals' name, date, time of ingress and egress, and
(as to non-employees) the reason for their presence; such
records shall be kept for a minimum of two years, and
longer at the request of the Commission or law
enforcement.

12. Audio/Video surveillance records must be kept for at
least 60 days, and longer upon the request of the
Commission, its inspectors, or any law enforcement
personnel. Audio/Video recordings potentially reflecting
an incident of actual or attempted diversion must be kept
for the longer of a period of two years, or until
resolution of the incident and apprehension and
discipline or prosecution of the individuals involved in
the actual or attempted diversion.

13. Employees, while on duty, shall wear identification
badges that clearly identify them as employees.

14. Visitors, including vendors, other licensees,

Commission members, inspection personnel, or other
representatives must wear a "visitor pass" or "AMCC
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Official" pass, as applicable, at all times while on the
premises.

15. Dispensaries shall maintain, review and update
policies to report theft, diversion, or other loss of
cannabis products to the Commission and to law
enforcement as early as practicable and not more than 24
hours from the event or its discovery.

16. Upon request, a Dispensary shall make available to
the Commission or its inspectors all information relating
to security alarm systems, monitoring, alarm activity,
maps of camera locations and camera coverage, audio/video
footage, surveillance equipment maintenance logs,
authorized use lists, operation instructions, and any
other security-related information deemed relevant by the
Commission or its inspectors.

17. Upon request, a Dispensary shall make available to
the Commission or its inspectors all information relating
to the Dispensary's security plan.

18. Signage. The dispensary shall prominently display at
each entrance point to a dispensing site and in at least
one location in the sales area of the dispensing site
signs stating as follows:

"WARNING: This facility is monitored at all times using
audio and video surveillance. Entry to this business and
purchases within are strictly prohibited except as to
registered patients and caregivers presenting wvalid
identification as required by law."

(n) The number of patients, caregivers and others on the
premises at a dispensing site at any given time may not be
more than can be reasonably monitored by the employees present
in the retail area, and in no event shall the total number of
individuals on the premises exceed that permitted by the
applicable fire code.

(0) The Dispensary Applicant must provide an affidavit signed
by the responsible individual and designated contact person
(or, if the Dispensary is an entity, the duly authorized
officer, owner or interest holder and the designated contact
person) that the information provided in the Application is
true and correct, to the best of the Affiants' knowledge upon
a diligent investigation thereof.

(p) The Dispensary Applicant must provide the application fee
required by §20-2A-55(f), Code of Ala. 1975, (as amended). The
application fee is nonrefundable and must be submitted
electronically per instructions in the Application Form
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received in response to the applicant's Request for
Application.

(4) In all other respects except as expressly stated otherwise in
this Rule, Dispensary Applicants shall be governed by the rules
for applications (Chapter 3 of these Rules) and licensing (Chapter
4 of these Rules) generally pertaining to all applicants.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.06 Post-Licensing Inspection Of Dispensary
Facilities.

Post-Licensing Inspection of Dispensary facilities under the Act
and these Rules shall be governed by Rule 538-X-4-.02 of Chapter 4
of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.07 Investigation Of Dispensary Licensees.

Investigation of Dispensary licensees under the Act and these
Rules shall be governed by Rule 538-X-4-.03 of Chapter 4 of these
Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.08 Training And Continuing Education Requirements For
Dispensaries.

Training and Continuing education requirements for Dispensaries'
owners, officers, administrators, managers, and employees shall be
as set forth in Rule 538-X-4-.04 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.
Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.
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538-X-8-.09 Dispensaries’ Maintenance Of Proper Technology.

Dispensaries' duty to maintain proper technology shall be governed
by Rule 538-X-4-.05 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.10 Dispensaries’ Annual Licensing Fees; Schedule.

Dispensaries' duty regarding annual license fees, shall be as set
forth in Rule 538-X-4-.06 of Chapter 4 of these Rules, and the
schedule therefor shall be contained on the AMCC website.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October

15, 2022.

538-X-8-.11 Dispensaries’ Duty To Meet And Maintain Standards;
Policies, Procedures And Operation Per
Application.

A Dispensary licensee has an ongoing duty to meet and maintain the
standards, policies, procedures, and operations, both at the pre-
commencement inspection and at all times thereafter, as it
affirmed to the Commission at the time of licensing, as such
standards, policies, procedures, and operations may have been
amended and updated by the licensee from time to time in
accordance with Rules 538-X-4-.08 and 538-X-4-.19., as provided in
Rule 538-X-4-.07 of Chapter 4 of these Rules and as modified by
Rule 538-X-8-.04 of this Chapter.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October

15, 2022.

538-X-8-.12 Dispensaries’ Duty To Notify Or Seek Permission
Regarding Material Change In Licensing
Information.

Dispensaries' duty to notify or seek the Commission's permission
regarding any material change in licensing information shall be
governed by Rule 538-X-4-.08 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.
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Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.13 Dispensaries’ Term Of Licenses.

The term of Dispensaries' licenses shall be governed by Rule 538-
X-4-.09 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.14 Dispensaries’ Applications For Renewal Of License.

Dispensaries' applications for renewal of license shall be
governed by Rule 538-X-4-.10 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.15 Dispensaries’ Notifications To Apply For Renewal.

Dispensaries' notifications to apply for renewal shall be governed
by Rule 538-X-4-.110of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.16 Expiration Of Dispensaries’ Licenses; Delinquent
License Renewal; Failure To Apply For Renewal.

The expiration of Dispensaries' licenses, renewal of delinquent
licenses and consequences for failing to apply for renewal shall
be governed by Rule 538-X-4-.12 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.
Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

Revised 10/15/22 8-21



Chapter 538-X-8 Medical Cannabis

538-X-8-.17 Dispensaries’ License Renewal Process And
Procedures; Use Of Independent Third-Party
Consultants.

Dispensaries' renewal process and procedures, and the Commission's
use of independent third-party consultants as to Dispensaries,
shall be governed by Rule 538-X-4-.13 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.
Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.18 Dispensaries’ License Renewal Fees.

License renewal fees for Dispensaries shall be governed by Rule
538-X-4-.14 of Chapter 4 of these Rules. License renewal fees
shall be set forth on the schedule of fees maintained by the
Commission on the AMCC website.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.19 Non-Renewal Of Dispensaries’ Licenses.

Non-renewal of Dispensaries' licenses shall be governed by Rule
538-X-4-.15 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.20 Dispensaries’ Transfer Of Licenses; Change Of
Ownership.

Dispensaries' transfer of licenses and change of ownership shall
be governed by Rule 538-X-4-.16 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.
Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.
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538-X-8-.21 Marketing And Advertising By Dispensaries.

Dispensaries' duties with respect to Advertising, except as
specifically modified within these Rules, shall be governed by
Rule 538-X-4-.17 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.22 Relocation Of Dispensaries’ Facilities.

Relocation of Dispensaries' facilities shall be governed by Rule
538-X-4-.18 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.23 Material Change In Dispensaries’ Information.

Rules regarding a material change in a Dispensaries' Information
previously provided to the Commission shall be governed by Rule
538-X-4-.19 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.24 Temporary Licenses For Dispensaries.

Rules regarding temporary licenses for Dispensaries shall be
governed by Rule 538-X-4-.20 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.
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538-X-8-.25 Dispensaries’ Surrender Of License; Cessation Of
Operations.

A Dispensary's surrender of license and/or cessation of operations
shall be governed by Rule 538-X-4-.21 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.
Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.26 Disciplinary Actions Against Dispensaries.

Disciplinary Actions against Dispensaries shall be governed by
Rule 538-X-4-.22 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.

Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.

538-X-8-.27 Dispensaries’ Appeals From Adverse Decisions By
The Commission.

Dispensaries' appeals from adverse decisions by the Commission
shall be governed by Rule 538-X-4-.23 of Chapter 4 of these Rules.
Author: William H. Webster

Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, §§20-2A-22, as amended.
History: New Rule: Published August 31, 2022; effective October
15, 2022.
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